Back to top


SJD Barcelona Children’s Hospital has three types of accreditation: European, national and regional. Among other things, these designations (accreditations) acknowledge the clinical expertise of the units, their ability to conduct research, exchange information and work as part of a network, the training of their professionals and their facilities.

Specifically, we have a total of 59 accreditations, which places us on the map as regards the European Reference Network for rare diseases, as well as among the paediatric reference centres recognised by the Spanish Ministry of Health and Catalan Government.

Some of the Hospital’s departments and units form part of rare disease treatment and study networks. This is due to the fact that the prevalence of some diseases is very low in paediatric patients, meaning they are considered to be rare. This is a common fact, for example, in oncological and neurological diseases, among others.

Our accreditations

Currently approved designations.

ERN: 21 accreditations

We form part of the European Reference Networks (ERN), working to improve patient care and share information with other European reference centres.

CSUR: 30 accreditations

Currently, a high number of units have the CSUR (Leading Centres, Departments and Units) certificate granted by the Spanish Ministry of Health to key hospitals in the treatment of complex diseases.

XUEC: 8 accreditations

We are part of the seven networks of expert clinical units in Catalonia (Xarxa d’Unitats d’Expertesa Clínica - XUEC) for the treatment of patients with rare diseases.

It is not covered by public health